17
Jul
13

Goodbye Facebook: Cutting The Addiction

Throughout my life I’ve heard people say that they feel like technology is ruining humanity. That while we are more accessible to one another we are less intimate with one another. We no longer call one another to talk and write one another letters even less than that. Today is the age of texting and of emails – both highly anonymous.

We have social media that is probably anything but social. Posting pictures that 47,000 other people have posted isn’t socializing… it is posting mindless crap that 46,999 other people have posted. Posting a few sentences about how we had a bad day isn’t helping us reconnect… it is complaining without having to show our emotions in person. Accepting a friend request from an old friend isn’t helping us rekindle a friendship… it is allowing us to spy on what they’ve done in the time we’ve missed and act like we suddenly care. Even a Jack-In-The-Box commercial recognizes how people get together just to text people not with them as well as a Windows 7 Phone commercial.┬áIf they use our insecurities and our addiction to anonymous technology to sell us more… what does that say about us?

They call it Technology Addiction and instead of emboldening our personal relationships we are enslaved to technology. We are the microwave society. We look for quick fixes and quick highs in our life to help us forget the stressful times and the idle times. It bothers us to be idle. I was no different. I am no different.

I still fumble over myself at the jingle of my phone to see if I have messages or emails. I wake up and immediately look at my phone to see what I missed. I have an unlimited phone plan but use maybe 120 minutes a month (95% of them to my mother), but send 1500+ texts and receive just as many. I get 40+ emails a day from random sources. And then there is Facebook.

facebook-entry-no-exit

When I first got on Facebook I thought it was the greatest thing ever. I could reconnect with people and find long lost friends. Little did I know that if I wasn’t their friend all this time then I wasn’t going to magically waltz into someones life who had survived without me for 8 years. So I stayed on there. I would justify me staying because I would periodically go through my friends list and delete people who I never talked to. I found groups I could be a part of… some of which I was a leader in. But those did nothing. Don’t get me wrong, I met some awesome people on Facebook – some I have over the years met in person and others who still remain just names on the computer screen.

A week ago I deleted my Facebook page. I didn’t just deactivate it – I deleted it. I’m not coming back. I feel pretty salty in saying this, but like any addict… I miss it. I helped me pass my idle time, especially since I work night shift and there is many times little to do on nights.

But on the bright side, I have realized how much time I spend on that social networking site not socializing at all. I have started listening to more of my somewhat forgotten electronic dance music and really enjoying it. I’ve really fallen out of the EDM scene and I miss that too. Oddly enough, it is EDM that helped me become much more social. The music… and large-in-part the people… were open, friendly, and approachable. I met some amazing people in clubs playing EDM, many of who I am still friends with today. This is how it socializing should be done – in person. Imagine!

Hopefully I will continue chipping away at the things in my life who have leeched my humanity over the years. But as I many times say to people trying to lose weight – you didn’t become overweight overnight so don’t expect to become skinny overnight.

SIDE NOTE: One of the things that kept me from leaving Facebook was my excuse that “all my pictures” were on there and that if I left, I’d lose them. This is not true, you can easily download all of your uploaded pictures with absolute ease. If this is part of your concern please check HERE to see how to download all your pictures/videos/likes/links/etc. in one easy download.


0 Responses to “Goodbye Facebook: Cutting The Addiction”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

