04
Mar
08

Even the Homeless Don’t Like Pizza Hut?

Homeless ManOK, so I am pretty sure that they like Pizza Hut – but they don’t like it.

So during my lunch break I got some pizza hut. I think it was a #2, so it was a pepperoni pizza and bread sticks. I went outside to eat since it was nice outside and a homeless lady was making her rounds asking for change. Now, for the most part, and from what I could hear, people were pretty courteous. They simply said, “No, I don’t have any change. Sorry.” There was only one person that acted like they didn’t even hear the homeless. I personally think that is wrong – to ignore a human being like that. When she came to me, I politely told her that I didn’t have any change – and I didn’t. But even if I did, I still wouldn’t give them change. I know, I know… what a bastard since he won’t give them any money. But let me explain…

I have never ignored a homeless person. I’ve always politely told them that I don’t have any money for them. I’ve even said “hi” to them when they were just sitting there. There simply, in my mind, no reason to act as if they don’t exist. I used to give them money if I had it, but not anymore. And here is why. I had a friend that knew where some homeless people lived. He decided that he wanted to befriend them. Ya know, be their friend when everyone else ignored them. So I joined this friend and decided that I too was going to be their friend. When I went to go see them, they instantly got all crazy and told me that they were going to kill me. They said that the “pigs” were out to get them and that I was a nark here to spy on them. They thought that it would be easier to just kill me and eliminate a possible stoolie than to accept my word – that I just wanted to be their friend. I actually feared for my life that night as they seemed fairly determined to fulfill that desire for my blood. It was a pretty crazy night and that is just a condensed version of it. Point of this story? Those homeless people wanted to be homeless. They did not want anyone except fellow homeless people in their life.

Today’s story went something like this. I ate my entire pizza but still had 2 bread sticks left over that I didn’t even touch (3 in a pack). I saw that same lady that was making her rounds earlier, so I took those break sticks over to her and offered them to her. So what did she do? She got pissed that I was offering her that. She asked me why I wouldn’t give her money, and then busted out in tears. What? So I just tossed the food away. I was pretty disturbed at this. I went out of my way, out of the kindness of my heart, to give her something she didn’t have. And she had the audacity to try to make a scene of me (crying), refuse my gift, and then got mad at me. I don’t get it.

So that is my question to all you out there… We want to get the government involved to help these people? Why is it that these people will take money from my hand in a heart beat, but refuse my food like they don’t need it? What is it that the government is going to do for these people that I didn’t? And will they take that? And if they do take what the government gives them, why will they take it from the government and not me?

With that said, I don’t have a problem with homeless in general. I was at a Wendy’s one time and a homeless lady was scraping change to get a burger. She didn’t have enough, so she walked away with nothing. I ordered her a burger and fries and went and gave it to her, and she was grateful. I have no problem with homeless people like that. People like her are probably the homeless person that will do anything to not be homeless. The rest of them – forget it, I truthfully think that they have chosen that life and want nothing to do with society other than getting their donations.

But with that said, do I need to pay more taxes that will go to these people that want to be homeless? Your thoughts?

17 Responses to “Even the Homeless Don’t Like Pizza Hut?”


  1. 1 DJ
    4 March 2008 at 03:44

    I agree,, they choose to be homeless. I have had similar experiences with the “homeless” I have offered them employment (you know under the table tax free money) and they got “too many irons in the fire!” For the most part, they choose to be off the grid, for whatever reason, it is a conscious decision for them to be homeless. There are a few out there that are genuinely homeless through no fault of their own, but they are few and far between. I am really annoyed at all the do good politicians who want to help the homeless, the homeless are there because (for the VAST majority) they want to be. That’s just my opinion, I could be wrong.

  2. 2 SKL
    23 January 2009 at 14:12

    You do know that a large percentage of the homeless population suffers from various mental problems/diseases right? A lot of homeless people couldn’t help themselves even if they wanted to. Understand that you don’t know their life story, depending on how long they’ve been homeless they may have had a very hard life. They get beaten up, get their stuff stolen, treated like shit, etc.

    When a homeless person acts in a way that you feel you would not have acted, remember that you are not them, that you did not experience everything that led them to the point they are at. So if you would have acted better, good for you, but you are not them.

    As far as federal aid to homeless goes, yeah there are a lot of problems. There are a few good programs, but a lot of money is wasted. I wouldn’t worry so much about paying more or less, I’d worry more about what exactly the money is going to. Obviously they aren’t just taking your money and giving it to the homeless, find out where your money is going to, get in contact with your DS and see what local programs there are. Some are going to be much better than others.

  3. 24 January 2009 at 05:30

    I do know this fact.

    I never said that I was them or I completely understood them.

    I want to help them directly and not have any of my money go to bureaucrats.

  4. 4 SKL
    24 January 2009 at 18:09

    Sorry, I just wouldn’t expect comments like

    “Those homeless people wanted to be homeless. They did not want anyone except fellow homeless people in their life.”

    and especially

    “I went out of my way, out of the kindness of my heart, to give her something she didn’t have. And she had the audacity to try to make a scene of me (crying), refuse my gift, and then got mad at me. I don’t get it.”

    for someone that understood that. You seem to be placing the blame solely on them, when clearly there are other factors. It looks like you were looking for a rational reason for their actions, where there probably isn’t rationality to be found.

  5. 24 January 2009 at 19:07

    @SKL: Look. I DID go out of my way, more than once, to try to help these people. I am a very compassionate person. In light of homeless people, most people don’t even acknowledge them as human beings – won’t even make eye contact with them. How dare you come here to judge me on this matter. You obviously do not know me.

    I stand by my original comments. I don’t quite understand it. I don’t understand, mental disability or not, why someone who is supposedly hungry would refuse food. I don’t know why people who have no friends would refuse friendship. Am I being unempathetic in questioning why? No, I’m not.

    The purpose of this article was and is to point out that we have no idea what to do with these people. There are some homeless people that want to get back on their feet and hate begging. I want to help THOSE people. Then there is the other side where these people WANT to be homeless. I do not want to HELP those people. Should we pour money into programs in which the recipents do not even want?

    I don’t appreciate taking my hard earned money and just GIVING it to people who don’t want help. This is why I am not for government programs. As you stated above, there are some programs that are better. In my opinion, people should give out of the compassion of their heart to the organizations that they feel help the most, not have government twist their arm into giving more “because we need to help” and all the while having Big Daddy scrape some money off the top for “administrative fees.” Bullshit.

  6. 28 January 2009 at 06:41

    Most of the time when they are offered food and refuse it, only wanting money, they are usually looking to purchase drugs or alcohol. I don’t give them money but I do offer them food or offer to purchase them a meal, if they refuse that is on them as I am not going to give them money to support their habit.

  7. 28 January 2009 at 06:50

    @cnjrocks: Thank you for stopping by and visiting. This is where I am mainly at too. I want to help, but do not feel like supporting a habit. If they want to roll to Jack in the Box with me, then let’s roll.

  8. 8 bardamu
    31 January 2009 at 19:18

    You may call yourself compassionate, but you don’t understand anything. Whether you give them money or not is your choice, and what they do with that money is their choice. If you offer them food, you take that choice away from them. It is extremely condescending, what you are telling them is basically “I don’t trust you with my money, you’ll probably go and buy booze”, implying that you know what is best for them. Give them money or don’t, but if you claim to see real people in them then leave them some dignity.

    Saying that people “want” to live in the street or “go off the radar” (life is not a spy movie) is simply horrible. Do you think anyone actually likes begging? Do you think those dirty bums are just a kind of very devoted Buddhist gurus that live according to their belief in the vainness of material goods? Have you ever tried sleeping on a street or in a parking lot for one night? Have you ever tried to hunker down and shit between two parked cars? Can you even imagine how much simple physical pain is involved with living in the street, quite apart from the shame and the constant fear and feeling of inferiority?

    People who live in the street do not do so by choice. To say that is a sign of either blatant ignorance or malice. The great majority of them are weak, deeply unstable people who have experienced some kind of trauma and are simply not capable of getting themselves out. As SKL said, do not expect them to behave like a “normal” person, they are not. They are fighting with sometimes extreme personal disorder and above all in most cases heavy addictions. It is quite probable that they WILL spend your money for booze, or drugs. But they are caught in a vicious circle between a life that is unbearable without them, and drugs that make it impossible to escape this life. So give them money or don’t, but do not ever think anyone lives on the street by choice. It is hell, and those that you identify as the ones that want to get back on their feet are the lucky ones that probably only just came to live there.

    Do you think people should make efforts to “deserve” receiving your charity? What kind of charity is that?

  9. 1 February 2009 at 21:38

    @Bardamu:
    So now I am compassionate but I am retarded. Well, good first post here Bardamu, welcome and thank you for the compliment.

    People who live in the street do not do so by choice. To say that is a sign of either blatant ignorance or malice.

    How much experience do YOU have with homeless people. I’ve talked to a few as well as people in the business of helping them. Their figures align with mine, many of them choose this life style. Now, I did not say ALL, I said MANY. This is MY FIRST HAND EXPERIENCE with these people. I know and have stated here and elsewhere that I want to help those that don’t want to be homeless. Here, let me quote myself…

    The purpose of this article was and is to point out that we have no idea what to do with these people. There are some homeless people that want to get back on their feet and hate begging. I want to help THOSE people. Then there is the other side where these people WANT to be homeless. I do not want to HELP those people.

    What is your first hand experiences or are you going to continue to badger me with your second-hand knowledge?

    Where did I ever say that someone needed to “deserve” my charity? WHERE? As I said in my above post, if they say they are HUNGRY and then I offer to take them out or give them food and they refuse, then that is stupid. No?

    I resent your label in a bad way. I am very caring. I am one of the few that have taken the time to go try to befriend and feed people that I know need help. I didn’t care what their situation is, I went out of the care in my heart. I saw nobody else there even make eye contact with them. And then you come here to badger me because I “know nothing.” I do know. I have a friend that used to live under a bridge with their family. I have always had the dream of taking some homeless off the street and giving them whatever they want to get back on their feet – whatever it takes. How many people do you know that have that dream Bardamu?

    Instead you feel that I am some sort of heartless prick because I think we need directly and personally help people in our community instead of funneling it through some beurecratic program that is going to skim money off the top and thusly not give it to the people that really need it? If you think that this stance of mine is wrong, then I wouldn’t doubt it if you are one of the skimmers.

  10. 10 Zurafa Ve Muz
    30 April 2009 at 12:38

    Dear kylehuwer,

    First of all it is very good to help people. And from zirillion things on the world it is very good that you spent your time discussing about people who needs help. But I think you are missing a small nuance. It is about them NOT you. When trying to help them you should forget everything about you. If they refuse you, you should not get disappointed from it. If your true will is to help them, no matter what they do you should keep helping them without categorizing them (of course if you prefer to). Do not forget you do help them because they need help, not because you are a good person.

    Sorry about my english it is my third language.

  11. 3 May 2009 at 07:46

    Zurafa,

    Thank you for visiting my site and your English is very good. I am sure that it is MUCH better than what I can speak in your native tongue. :)

    I am not sure where you are getting that this [homeless] issue is about me, not them. I never have said anything of that matter. I went out there to talk to them because I felt that they deserved to have friends just like everyone else. If I was going out there for my own benefit, then I would have asked my employer to pay for my “charitable time” or gone to a soup kitchen and donated my time and deducted my time off my taxes. But, I didn’t do any of that. I just went out there to make friends. So, I really do not see how you can say that I went out there for my own benefit.

    I don’t think I am categorizing them as you mention though. Sure, they are homeless, but I still acknowledge them as an individual. As in my original post, when the lady came by and asked me for money I offered her food instead. I didn’t put her in a group and label her and shun her, I recognized that the odds are that she was someone that was probably hungry so I offered her some food. When she rejected me and made a scene of me, I felt pretty disgraced that my kindness was rejected.

    The point of this post is and always has been my desire to bring forth the idea of personal responsibility of people in a community. We should all take it upon ourselves, as individuals in a community, to care for others. Now, don’t misconstrue my words – we should care for others on a personal level without the government making us. Charity should always be voluntary. And as you said, we should do it because they need it, not because we get some sort of kickback – whether it be a kickback on our taxes or some sort of emotional righteousness.

    To this day I still am flabbergasted as to why so many have come here and blasted me for my concern for the less fortunate when so many others feel that the issue is better addressed by some emotionless government entity “taking care” of them. I don’t get it…

  12. 12 jake
    17 November 2009 at 05:04

    simply, they beg to support their addictions, ( note the paranoia? ) and you aint too hungry when you on crack.

    not that much of a hand scratcher kid.

  13. 17 November 2009 at 19:08

    And you missed the entire point of the post…

  14. 14 Staci
    12 December 2009 at 09:16

    Hi Kyle,

    I just came across your entry on pizza and homeless folks. I’m a little late on joining the discussion, but enjoyed reading the various perspectives. I understand your desire to help. This is the most important point, whatever the outcome. You acted personally from the caring in your heart. I once heard a teacher say that it is human nature to care, as much as we try not to, it is our nature.

    Whatever the cause of homelessness, I think most people find it painful to see another person living in squalor, starving, addicted,freezing, etc. No matter that we are used to it- on some level, we feel that pain.

    I once walked sightseeing through the streets of San Francisco with my Aunt Wendy. There were many homeless people. One woman caught my attention. She was young, mostly passed out, and sitting/leaning against a wall. I paused and my Aunt, who is a nurse with a been-there-done-that perspective of drunks, noticed me, and said, “Oh no, just leave that alone, they want to be like that, just leave that alone,” and walked ahead in a hurry. I went into a little cafe, bought a bowl of soup, and bent slightly toward the half-conscious woman. “Hey,hey,” I said, “are you okay?” My Aunt lingered further down the street, embarrassed and scared by what I was doing.

    The drunk woman came to, was clearly and totally high on something and said, “No, no, I’m fine.” She didn’t want the soup either. Then she kinda smiled before going unconscious again. I caught up with my Aunt, and wondered who was right, me for trying, or her for knowing how the lady would respond. I still don’t have an answer to that question.

    I only know that when I help someone in that condition, I am really doing it for me, to ease my own suffering in seeing them suffer. I feel better when I try, even if they lash out, are offended, or accept gratefully. I decided that day in San Francisco, that for me, it is worth the embarrassment I might feel in order to try to love someone. It is worth looking foolish, failing, and feeling stupid in front of myself and others to try. I think you and I and most people have good intentions. I like the idea of acting on our good intention, more than debating who is right and who is wrong, or who should or shouldn’t be helped.

    Thank you. If we end up on the street, I hope that we are in a position to receive the pizza sticks and good intentions offered by others who care.

  15. 12 December 2009 at 12:00

    @Staci: You are never late to a conversation which has no end. Welcome to my blog and thank you for your comment.

    I think you hit a very important point here when you say, “I only know that when I help someone in that condition, I am really doing it for me, to ease my own suffering in seeing them suffer.” This is very true… are we doing it to help someone or are we doing it to make ourselves feel better.

    This is kind of my point of the entire article. Are we throwing tax money at these people because we genuinely want to help or are we throwing tax dollars at these people because we want to feel better about ourselves. In other words, are we giving out of charity or are we giving out of obligatory shame?

    It is my opinion that everyone should have the desire to go get others food/help and offer it when they can. I think you are right, it is natural ability for humans to care for others. However, when a nameless entity (the government) takes over that “care” role, we distance ourselves from our own empathy and care of others… and the quality and quantity of care diminishes.

    How many times have you donated something and expected nothing in return – whether it be donating clothes and getting no tax break or it be giving someone a meal and nobody knows? Or do you always do it only if you can receive a kickback (tax incentive mainly)?

    I know I’ve done things where I prefer people to NOT know. I like to give to give, not for some sort of recognition. This is the way to truly be charitable.

  16. 16 Andy
    24 March 2010 at 19:42

    Hi

    I am currently working on a photo-documentary on homeless people. One thing I can tell you is that you will always find people that want to get off the streets and will use your help the right way and others that won’t know what to do with help. I don’t believe giving money to someone that won’t know how to use it correctly in order to prosper is a good idea. We need to push our organizations, non-profits and local governments to fix this issue. This is a local problem that every city and resident should deal with and focus on fixing and not just waiting for someone else to do it. You can meet very nice people talking to the homeless, one tip, just talk to them…If they ask for something and you want to give it fine, if you don’t then don’t and that is that. Just because you give a stranger a buck doesn’t make you a better or worse person, it just makes you another individual that doesn’t know what to do but to keep walking. These people need help, real help, counseling, financial advice, psychological and psychiatric help a friend to talk to, someone that will really understand them. When you really mean well you find the means to really help.

    Best

    Andy

  17. 17 DJ
    11 April 2010 at 05:18

    Andy,

    I agree with most of what you wrote, the only part I disagree with is the “…and local governments to fix this issue.” It is not the purview of the government (local, state or federal) to provide charity, it is the purview of churches, other non-profit, and individuals.

    For what purpose are you doing a photo documentary? It sounds like an interesting project. Do you have a website where your work can be viewed?


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


