17
Jan
09

The Solution Is Found Within Each Of Us

So, all we hear is how crappy the economy is anymore and how the US is spiraling into some sort of black hole of which we will never recover from. And for all this psycho babble talk (and with the help of my new friend Liz), I say BULLSHIT.

Of course, my optimism is not due to Messiah Obama coming into the big chair here in a few days. No. I could care less about him. He isn’t magical and he surely isn’t my Messiah. No, my optimism is rooted in the belief that Americans are a different breed. In the history of our country we have never laid down in the face of a problem, adversity, or even a big bully throwing torpedoes at our ships. Hell no. We were build on the notion that WE THE PEOPLE had the power here in this land – not only control of our government, but also to fix whatever happened in the economy. During the Revolution war we rode our horses around and flipped the bird at England. We told her to shove off and go find some other people to rule.

For the first time in the history of the world a group of people decided they wanted to be free of tyranny and live their lives how they wanted.  They didn’t want to be told what religion to practice. They didn’t want to work hard just to give someone “tax” money. They didn’t want to have the government come in their house and dig around. And so much more. And with those thoughts, we made this country.

From 1776 until the 1940’s America did her own thing. Markets went up and markets down. People lost their entire livelihoods and people made great fortunes during that time. People flocked to America for this reason. The American dream was built not out of a white picket fence, a dog, a spouse, and a house. No, the American dream was that you could come here and bust your ass and be someone. And all during this time, the government pretty much stayed out of the people’s way. Life continued and nobody looked to the President or the Congress to fix all their problems. That was ludicrous

Yes. Back then men humbled themselves to the crappiest jobs – anything to make some money to buy their family food. And if they couldn’t find work, then they decided to barter with what they had. Or maybe both. Yeah, people would actually pay doctors with eggs, goats, and cows back then. There was no fear of not being covered by a doctor because of some stupid insurance company. No, you simply knew that you could go to the doctor and barter with them as a human being. Come to think of it, maybe that is what is wrong with our health care today. Somehow we have removed the humanity out of it. We’ve given up to the science, the prescriptions, and the big buildings and forgot that the human body is a marvelous machine. Maybe I only say this because I have a different outlook on medicine and the human body.

You see, I grew up without the doctor. No, I could have gone to the doctor if needed – my family had medical coverage for me. However, I never went just simply because I was sick. I only went when I really needed to go. Today I hear people all the time going to the doctor. Sniffles – I have allergies, I need to go to the doctor. I am vomiting – I have the flu, I need to go to the doctor. I have a headache – I have migranes, I need to go to the doctor. Etc. Etc.

Why, I ask? Why do we need to go to the doctor so much. We are a nation of hypochondriacs. It is no wonder that we have more super-viruses now than ever – because we take so much medicine that the viruses have so many opportunities to become immune to it. Anyways, I never go to the doctor unless I feel near death or I crack my head open or something. Anything short of those events I tend to at home. I don’t take flu shots – I have faith in my immune system (I did take one while in the Army, although I did try to fight that, but decided there was other battles to fight and the Army would just throw me back in line anyways). I don’t take cold medicine. I don’t take headache medicine. In short, I have faith in my immune system and if my immune system can’t handle it, maybe I can find something that Mother Nature can help me with (Not a hippy, but I do believe in alternative medicine – massages, aromatherapy, acupuncture, homeopathy, etc.). I refuse to be entangled and bound to some prescription drug the rest of my life. I will choose to die early before that happens.

That seems to be really off topic of what I started with here, but maybe it is not. You see, the solution to our problems is not to look elsewhere. The solution lies within each and every one of us. We don’t need to run to the doctor to cure a common cold. Likewise, we don’t need to run to the government for everything either.

Have faith in yourself. Have faith in your fellow Americans. The solution is found within each of us.

2 Responses to “The Solution Is Found Within Each Of Us”


  1. 1 DJ
    17 January 2009 at 21:56

    Not going to the doctor is a great idea! I haven’t been to a doctor in several years (I don’t count the eye guy…he ain’t a real dr.) I do not contribute to my companies health plan nor do I have private insurance. I do have Military retiree health coverage though. I take over the counter meds like Prilosec OTC and some nasal sprays for my screwed up snot locker, but other than that, I let nature takes its course! BTW, who is Liz?

  2. 18 January 2009 at 20:13

    I am not against going to the doctor; however, I believe that there is a threshold of how often you should go.

    With that said, I should probably cash out of my health plan and get some sort of plan that is what I actually need.


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


