20
Mar
09

Mandatory Volunteerism = Free Slave: HR 1388

Interesting. I thought that America was the “Land of the Free,” but it appears that I was wrong. On 18 March 2009 the House of Representatives voted on HR 1388 – the Generations Invigorating Volunteerism and Education Act or the GIVE Act with a vote of 321 to 105. (See how your representatives voted here).

Now let me make one thing clear. I am all for people volunteering their time to the community. I have long said that if everyone quit being so selfish that we would be better off. It is our neighbors that make life good, not the government. Even in my life, I can remember having neighbors who looked out for my siblings and me. And that is the way it should be;  the government should not look after people. But, I digress. I like volunteer work, but mandatory volunteer work. Um, no….

With this new bill it is possible that any able bodied person will have to volunteer their time to some sort of service of which the government will determine. This is interesting because as I remember it, we have the Thirteenth Amendment, which reads:

Section 1. Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime where of the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction.
Section 2. Congress shall have the power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.

What part of “involuntary servitude” does not make sense here fellas? Hell, they even have a “Senior Corps” built into this plan for people over 55!

Let’s also look at amendment 12 to this bill, which reads:

Amendment to prohibit organizations from attempting to influence legislation; organize or engage in protests, petitions, boycotts, or strikes; and assist, promote, or deter union organizing. Proposed: Mar 18, 2009. Accepted: Mar 18, 2009.

Hello? First Amendment? Please notice that this Amendment was ACCEPTED!

Moving on Section 1710 reads:

STUDY TO EVALUATE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF A CENTRALIZED ELECTRONIC CITIZENSHIP VERIFICATION SYSTEM.
(a) Study- The Corporation for National and Community Service shall conduct a study to determine the effectiveness of a centralized electronic citizenship verification system which would allow the Corporation to share employment eligibility information with the Department of Education in order to reduce administrative burden and lower costs for member programs. This study shall identify–

A WHAT? A centralized electronic citizenship verification system? Is this the National ID? Or the RFID chip? Or what? C’mon now…

Scaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyy….. On the bright side, thank you to Congressman Flake for voting Nay on this monstrosity!

2 Responses to “Mandatory Volunteerism = Free Slave: HR 1388”


  1. 1 Alan Scott
    10 April 2009 at 11:28

    How is this different from the draft? If you are drafted in to the military it is involuntary servitude. I missed Vietnam, but still had to register in the early 70s. I can see drafting people in war time, not having a civilian volunteer’s draft in peace time. We already have involuntary taxes on our income, this would just be an involuntary tax on our time and our persons.

    What are the penalties for ignoring this draft? Could one flee to Canada to avoid it?

  2. 2 DJ
    14 April 2009 at 19:51

    Alan Scott,

    I imagine one could run to Canada, although I can’t think of a whole lot up there that I like, I personally plan to stick around and fight to get my country back. But then I did time on active duty, and from I understand, I am exempt form this mandatory volunteringism thingy. I do see your point though, it is a disgusting tax on the time of citizenry.

    Regarding taxes, have you checked out http://www.losthorizons.com?


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


