24
Apr
09

Los Angeles meter maids, you are pitiful

Dear LA meter maids,

You all are pitiful. I recently went on vacation to Torrence, CA, and received a parking ticked while sitting in my car. When you walked by my car slightly before 10 and saw me sitting there you could have simply told me, an out-of-state visitor, that parking in that area was closed at 10PM. I would have gladly moved if you had told me that the parking was closed. Instead you decided to write me a ticket with me sitting in my car. I know, I know. California needs some extra revenue so you are told to go full bore on ticket writing. 10:01PM and still waiting to pull away because traffic has you blocked in? TICKET! Waiting on your friend to get back from taking a pee and it is 10:01PM? TICKET! Or in my case, 10:17 and sitting in your car trying to figure out what to do in a strange city where you know where nothing is? TICKET!

Ya’ll are pitiful. But, I understand. Arizona is full force with their speeding revenue cameras as well.

Sincerely,

Kyle

PS – I won’t be back.

2 Responses to “Los Angeles meter maids, you are pitiful”


  1. 1 DJ
    27 April 2009 at 15:11

    I did two tours in California, one in San Diego, and one just a bit north of LA, things haven’t changed. The ticket books are about the only positive revenue generator in California.

    Regarding not going back, I don’t think you will miss anything.

  2. 2 James
    9 June 2009 at 21:21

    I wonder how many “parking enforcement officers” there are in LA. There must be a small army!


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


