04
Jun
09

The Police State of Arizona

More photo radar cameras are on tap for the city of Phoenix.

Officer William Fisher said the additional cameras will target more than just red-light runners.

Fisher said there currently are red-light cameras at 12 intersections and two vans which do speed enforcement around schools and school zones.

“They’re talking about maybe adding some intersections — maybe speed on green or mid-block speed and maybe some enforcement around the light rail,” said Fisher.

He said cameras also will be used for secondary infractions, like expired tags, cracked windshields and seatbelt violations.

The cameras will be installed later this summer.

The exact locations have not been decided, according to Fisher.

“Usually how they pick the intersection is by statistics, by red-light running tickets or collisions in that intersection,” he said.

(Original here)

—–

Why is this scary to me? First off, I want to face my accuser, not be threatened through the mail with a photograph. Secondly, reviewing for second-hand offense? That means that someone has to sit there and watch us all the time. This is a police state everyone. The government, in the name of safety or whatever other crap they come up with, is going to sit there and monitor what we do. No bueno.

2 Responses to “The Police State of Arizona”


  1. 19 September 2009 at 02:04

    This reminds me of the unconstitutional sobriety checkpoints that used to be set up in northern Indiana (and I assume lots of other places) on weekends late at night. I would always go out of my way to go through them, so I could be sure and tell the officers that, while the basic idea of keeping drunk drivers off the street is indeed noble and good and something that I support, they need to realize that the checkpoints are completely unconstitutional. Then I would be a smart-ass and quote the 4th amendment at them about unwarranted search and seizure. It never did anything other than annoy the cops, and I always had to be checked anyway, but I always made it clear I was only doing it “under protest.” Good times.

  2. 19 September 2009 at 07:32

    @MJ: I’ve never understood how this was possible. The government has the right to pull me over but they don’t have the right to force me to do anything – blow a breathalyzer, get out of my car, perform tricks for them, let them search my car, or even talk to them. I don’t have to do anything for them.

    The only way I have to listen is if they arrest me – in other words, read me my Miranda Rights. And even then, they still don’t have the right to go through my property (search my car, etc).

    I’d like to know how this is possible.


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


