15
Jul
09

Sotomayor and her Bias

This whole Supreme Court Justice thing is interesting to me. The things that are said by both her and her supporters both surprise and anger me. I have nothing against her or her supporters personally but I do have a bit to say about their words. Maybe, of course, I am viewing this entirely biased, but I really don’t think that is the case.

I received an e-mail from Obama, or at least that is who it is from, in my junk mail box. I am not sure why I got it, as I surely don’t really want to hear Obama’s updates on how he is ruining my country (even if it is not him writing it, but rather someone on his behalf). Nevertheless, I got it.

I would like to take a minute to point out some things that I found interesting in this letter.

And then there is Judge Sotomayor’s incredible personal story. She grew up in a housing project in the South Bronx — her parents coming to New York from Puerto Rico during the Second World War. At the age of nine, she lost her father, and her mother worked six days a week just to put food on the table. It takes a certain resilience and determination to rise up out of such circumstances, focus, work hard and achieve the American dream.

I find it interesting that Obama would point out that it was resilence and determination versus some sort of governmental intervention that allowed her to achieve the American Dream. What Liberal ever attributes anything to hard work and determination? I thought that life was always unfair and we all needed to be leveled so that everyone could succeed. I thought it was impossible (or near) for someone born in the ghetto to rise up and out of the slum, much less out and into stardom or a position of power! As the Left would have you believe, the only way that life would be fair for those less privleged would be to give them more.

But even so, why even mention the American Dream I ask? Isn’t the American Dream the thought that anyone can work hard and make a life for themselves? That you can work hard and become someone? That you can work hard and get what you want? The American Dream is not about crying about how life is unfair and how you are born into a situation of which you cannot escape. No. It is about busting your ass and getting what you want regardless of how sour the odds are against you! So why are we even talking about the American Dream when the Liberals don’t even truly believe in it?

Of course, it is always nice to say one thing out the side of your mouth and then another thing out the other side. Yes Joe, we want to take away from your success and spread it around. Forget you working on the American Dream, we want to take your dream and spread it around. Horse dung!

The letter goes on to say the following.

In Judge Sotomayor, our nation will have a Justice who will never forget her humble beginnings, will always apply the rule of law, and will be a protector of the Constitution that made her American dream and the dreams of millions of others possible. As she said so clearly yesterday, Judge Sotomayor’s decisions on the bench “have been made not to serve the interests of any one litigant, but always to serve the larger interest of impartial justice.”

I am not so sure, Turbo. To defend the Constitution? Law has no eyes…

Sotomayor in 2001:

Whether born from experience or inherent physiological or cultural differences,” she said, for jurists who are women and nonwhite, “our gender and national origins may and will make a difference in our judging.

Sotomayor in 2002:

I would hope that a wise Latina woman with the richness of her experiences would more often than not reach a better conclusion than a white male who hasn’t lived that life

Sotomayor in 2005:

court of appeals is where policy is made

Interesting. I am not quite sure how we are applying the law without bias when we actively are admitting that ones history affects your decisions.

(Link)

0 Responses to “Sotomayor and her Bias”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


