24
Jul
09

Obama on TV too much?

I like science-fiction movies. I didn’t always, but it’s grown on me. Today, I don’t watch a lot of TV. In fact, while I have a TV, I don’t watch TV, I watch movies. But, there are plenty of TVs all over the place – work, stores, gym, etc. I can’t help but notice how much I see Obama on TV. Always getting on there and saying how he doesn’t want to increase the size of the government and then saying what the government is going to do for us. Ya know, whatever with that.

With the science fiction… a lot of the times there are screens all over the place with commercials or the head-hancho getting on there and reminding people of how happy they are and how good things are. Think, Blade Runner. Think, Aeon Flux. Think, Equilibrium. (Maybe even The Fifth Element). And I am sure more… The amount that I see Obama on TV kind of makes me wonder when he is going to get on and start telling us to be happy and to take the blue pill that arrived from the Department of…. Agriculture…. that will make us calmer during these hard times. Enter the Matrix!

Maybe it is just me, but I don’t need some President to come on TV to tell me that I am going to survive. Maybe I am biased in saying this, but I don’t remember seeing Bush on tv this much. Even during the times surrounding 9/11 I don’t remember seeing him on TV a lot. He said his piece. He said we were going to get those responsible and then he was gone to make plans to do just that. Forget that he may have been misguided… or lied… (we don’t know what he did or didn’t do/know)… the point is that he didnt feel the need to get on TV every other day and tell us how much he was going to do for us. And you know what? America seemingly recovered pretty quickly from 9/11, and without a massive government intervention.

So why is it that we need to hear from Obama every other day? I think for a couple of reasons. When he appears, he gives the impression to a lot of people that he is “one of us.” When he comes on TV, indirectly he is saying “I am here for you.” Which of course is a bunch of crap, but that is the impression that people get. Secondly, him appearig all the time gives the impression that he is working on the problem. Forget that he may say nothing or have no plan, but the act of getting on TV makes him appear like the problems are being examined and fixed. And lastly, I think that Obama knows that he is a good speaker and a lot of people drool over his oratory skills. Forget what he is actually saying, the guy is charismatic. I hate to compare, but it makes me think of Hitler when he could move crowds to cheer at the idea of erradicating a people due to their religion. I don’t think Obama’s ideas are totally accepted, but if he can keep his public support high then he can probably stay in for a second term and likewise push more of his agenda through. He does this by swooning reporters and crowds that love to hear him speak.

Anyways, just my observations. I could be totally wrong and like I said, I don’t watch TV so much so I might be just catching it at coinscidential times.

3 Responses to “Obama on TV too much?”


  1. 1 Alan Scott
    1 August 2009 at 19:14

    Whether President Obama is on television too much or not, we all have the option to turn him off. We also still have the option to view other media to get dissenting viewpoints. Anyone remember the Democrats threat to use the ” Fairness ” doctrine to silence talk radio? Fortunately that did not go anywhere. For a glimpse of what might have been, all you have to do is focus on Hugo Chavez. They do not bother to label it ” Fairness ” in Venezuela.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/08/01/AR2009080101822.html?hpid=sec-world

  2. 2 August 2009 at 20:15

    We do have the option to turn him off. However, unfortunately, many people watch a TON of TV and believe EVERYTHING that they hear. So when Obama says that he is going to fix health care, they don’t pay attention to the details of what he is actually going to do – they just accept it and most certainly never question it. Why? Because the media is still playing his trumpet. They never question him either.

    However, I heard the other day that 44% of Americans strongly disagree with what Obama is doing. This is with the media who is completely in bed with him. If that is anything, I hope that we can be more optimistic about our future. Maybe, just maybe, Americans are ready to say enough is enough.

    We can hope.

  3. 3 Tom Katsumi
    5 September 2009 at 03:41

    Considering your taste in film, you might find this interesting: http://tomkatsumi.wordpress.com/2009/09/05/a-revolution-is-the-start-of-a-story-not-the-ending/

    Also – check out the documentaries of Adam Curtis


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


