05
Sep
09

I Pledge NOTHING!

This is the stupidest crap I’ve seen in a long time. Let me say this clearly.

WE ELECT PEOPLE TO PUBLIC POSITIONS TO REPRESENT, PROTECT, AND TO ULTIMATELY SERVE US. ONCE YOU REVERSE THAT ROLL, YOU NOW HAVE A DICTATORSHIP OR SOMETHING EQUALLY AS DISGUSTING.

I pledge NOTHING to any public servant and I hope you too realize that you do not serve them, they serve YOU.

8 Responses to “I Pledge NOTHING!”


  1. 1 Alan Scott
    12 September 2009 at 07:13

    Kyle,

    The stupid thing about that video is that it has no meaning because it has no focus. The word is diffuse. A bunch of people all pledging to do what? It is the perfect statement for Obamaites because like him it rambles with multiple trains of disorganized purpose. Most of the people in my small hometown just do what they are supposed to do. They donate their blood, time, and money to their community. They do not do it in the name of Obama. They do not do it for freaking acorn. They support and respect the men and women fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan.

  2. 12 September 2009 at 17:22

    @Alan Scott:
    Right. There is nothing wrong with saying “I am not going to watch American Idol tonight and instead help my neighbors.”

    But this isn’t about helping your community and never was. It was about doing what the government said. The perfect example of this is the GIVE Act. You will be forced to donate your time for whatever cause the government wants. So it is no longer about charity, it is all about forced volunteerism to do whatever a bureaucrat wants you to do.

    This video is just further proof that these people do not want to donate their time out of the kindness of their heart… they want to serve some politician.

  3. 3 DJ
    12 September 2009 at 21:21

    Forced Volunteerism? I think a better description is mandatory servitude-slavery if you will. Volunteering is something done out of the kindness of ones heart, a desire to help others. THe GIVE act is stealing your time and effort for someone else’s benefit. Also, if you volunteer to do something, there is no repercussion if you change your mind, or something happens that prevents you from completing the act you volunteered to do, the GIVE act has penalties if you do not “volunteer”.

  4. 13 September 2009 at 01:36

    @DJ: Forced volunteerism was used to draw attention to the stupidity of this entire idea, not to be politically/historically correct. Most people do not have a clue what “mandatory servitude” is and “slavery” has racial undertones so most people dismiss it (i.e. how can I be a slave if nobody owns me, etc).

    As you have alluded to, volunteering is a charitable event and if you do not do it there are no repercussions. So when we make it mandatory, it is no longer volunteering or charitable… as you said, it is slavery.

  5. 19 September 2009 at 01:38

    Kyle,

    I found something that I can kind of agree with you about! Namely, that we always need to be careful not to idolize people in power (especially politicians) and serve them as if they were our gods. I do like the general tone of 90 percent of the video, though. I think most of us could definitely do with more self-reflection and sacrifice in serving others, especially if it starts with looking inward to ask how we contribute to oppression, violence, or . I’m not sure why we tend to be inspired by celebrities saying they pledge to do things, but ignoring that ridiculousness, I would love to see people “pledging” to be aware of how they can make some positive changes on the micro-level.

    What do you think?

  6. 19 September 2009 at 07:09

    @MJ: Hey man! you made it to my blog, welcome!

    Hey, I think any sane person can agree with the idea that everyone needs to pitch in and help out. But also any freedom loving soul will agree that pitching in is optional and cannot be forced in a truly free society. However, a few things. First, when you take that entire message and inject a “I will serve Obama,” I believe the entire message is tainted. It is no longer about helping, it is about helping a politician.

    I disagree with you about being inspired by celebrities though. I am inspired by individuals who stand up steadfastly for what they believe in, like Agustin. You know this. I could give a flying rip about celebrities or politicians. They are all showmen and liars. Celebrities make a lot of money and then make commercials like this one to encourage us to donate our time and money to causes… all the while they spend hundreds, thousands, and millions on themselves for cars, jewelry, and houses. It seems a bit hypocritical to me.

    But then again, if they are able to make that much money, I have no way of telling them how much they should donate. I think in a free country you should be able to make, spend, and donate however much you want. However, I think it is disgusting for these people to go say one thing and then do nothing themselves.

    How about we make no pledges and we just do what is right? To make a pledge it seems to scream- look at me. Kind of like the Pharisees praying in public.

    How about this… how about we just follow the 9/12 (9 principles, 12 values)?
    9 Principles, 12 Values (click)

    The 9 Principles

    1. America Is Good.
    2. I believe in God and He is the Center of my Life. God “The propitious smiles of Heaven can never be expected on a nation that disregards the eternal rules of order and right which Heaven itself has ordained.” from George Washington’s first Inaugural address.
    3. I must always try to be a more honest person than I was yesterday. Honesty “I hope that I shall always possess firmness and virtue enough to maintain what I consider to be the most enviable of all titles, the character of an honest man.” George Washington
    4. The family is sacred. My spouse and I are the ultimate authority, not the government. Marriage/Family “It is in the love of one’s family only that heartfelt happiness is known. By a law of our nature, we cannot be happy without the endearing connections of a family.” Thomas Jefferson
    5. If you break the law you pay the penalty. Justice is blind and no one is above it. Justice “I deem one of the essential principles of our government… equal and exact justice to all men of whatever state or persuasion, religious or political.” Thomas Jefferson
    6. I have a right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness, but there is no guarantee of equal results. Life, Liberty, & The Pursuit of Happiness “Everyone has a natural right to choose that vocation in life which he thinks most likely to give him comfortable subsistence.” Thomas Jefferson
    7. I work hard for what I have and I will share it with who I want to. Government cannot force me to be charitable. Charity “It is not everyone who asketh that deserveth charity; all however, are worth of the inquiry or the deserving may suffer.” George Washington
    8. It is not un-American for me to disagree with authority or to share my personal opinion. On your right to disagree “In a free and republican government, you cannot restrain the voice of the multitude; every man will speak as he thinks, or more properly without thinking.” George Washington
    9. The government works for me. I do not answer to them, they answer to me. Who works for whom? “I consider the people who constitute a society or a nation as the source of all authority in that nation.” Thomas Jefferson

    The 12 Values

    * Honesty
    * Reverence
    * Hope
    * Thrift
    * Humility
    * Charity
    * Sincerity
    * Moderation
    * Hard Work
    * Courage
    * Personal Responsibility
    * Gratitude

  7. 19 September 2009 at 12:40

    Kyle,

    I think my wording was a bit confusing. I was saying that I don’t (do not) see any reason to be inspired by celebrities. They happen to be good at something that happens to give them fame and fortune – that’s hardly a reason to look up to them. In other words, I agree with you: people who stand up for what they believe in, no matter what the consequences, are the people to be looked up to. I would include people like yourself in that category.

    As far as the 9/12, I think the world would indeed be a better place if people strove to uphold the values mentioned, and the principles are generally solid as well. The only principle that I wouldn’t personally subscribe to unconditionally is the first one (as you might have guessed). I don’t trust a country to be good any more than I trust a government or a politician or any instituation run by human-beings to always be/do good. I don’t think I’m anti-American, but I guess I also don’t assume that the country where I was born is necessarily going to be the best. It goes along with Principle #8 I suppose, but even beyond that, what does it mean to say that America is good? What makes America good? If it is the citizens that make the country good, America is sometimes good and sometimes not – we human beings are constantly falling short of being good and often are nowhere close; if it is the government that makes a country good, I think we’re definitely in trouble, considering governments tend to be infested by politicians (at best, they’re fallible human beings like the rest of us).

    I’m not sure if “Glenn’s Pledge for Our Elected Officials” is directly related to the 9/12 stuff or not, but it seems to be connected, and that I would definitely take issue with on similar grounds. “I believe the United States of America is the greatest country on earth and therefore will not apologize for policies or actions which have served to free more and feed more people around the world than any other nation on the planet.”

    Even if the US births, nurses, parents, feeds, and clothes everyone on the entire planet out of the goodness of its heart, that still doesn’t mean I’m going to stop questioning other policies and being critical of things we do that are harmful. I guess I have a hard time living humbly and calling my country the best one on earth. Maybe it was at one point. Maybe it is right now. Maybe it will be at some point in the future. But the statement above seems to suggest we are beyond reprove, because we’re the greatest? You know what I mean?

    Maybe I’m entirely too detached and pessimistic about power structures in general, but I don’t feel the need to defend any one country, party, or group. I’m of the opinion that anything dependent on human beings is going to be a mixed bag – there will probably be some good stuff in there, but it’s bound to be surrounded by quite a bit of crap, too.

    Does that make any sense or am I just rambling here?

  8. 19 September 2009 at 23:13

    @MJ: Thank you for putting me on the pedestal. Nice to know I have a few fans. :)

    I am tempted to agree with you about the #1 as well. As a Libertarian I am always going to be skeptical of the government. I believe that in anything we do, we should always be skeptical. In other words, we shouldn’t be blind followers in anything we do. I think the Bible even calls out to question everything to see where it originates (in this case, does it originate from God). For me this is no different for politics. Any time I hear something, I try to examine it as a whole and on a micro level – what is the problem, what is their solution, who came up with the solution, what is their background, what else is in the law that is “behind the curtain,” and more.

    So should we make a blanket statement of America is good [and we should never question it]. No. And as you mentioned, this is why #8 is there – question government!

    With that said, in the grand scheme of things it is best to respect or believe that your country is good. I have been a long-time believer that if you cannot love yourself that you cannot love another. When you love, it isn’t a blanket of condonement, it is an outlook that tomorrow is another day and that somehow we can work together to make life better. I think that you can view your country with love and admiration and not get caught up into unabridged nationalism.

    As for the question of “what is good” I offer the anti-statement of “what is bad?” The idea of good and bad is relative. Although for most things I think humans can agree that there are some universal goods and universal bads. Likewise, I think we could probably come to some sort of consensus on whether or not our country is doing good or bad. And if it is bad, then can We The People work together to change it?


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


