22
Oct
09

What is Wrong with People in Collections?

So my father has a loan that has been in default since 2002. It has bounced through multiple collection agencies. It has gone to court and they have agreed to garnish his paycheck.

But guess what. My dad does not make a steady paycheck and at that, not a very large paycheck. So, the garnishers stopped. To put it simply, those who are owed don’t have much to get from him.

Enter me. I call up this place and tell them I am possibly willing to take over the loan. I say that I want the entire history of the loan – ever since it was “born” all the way until now. They said they are not sure if they can get it. They get a bunch of information from me and see what “deal” I can get.

They come back and ask me how much I want to pay a month. I say, nothing until I can get the history like I originally asked for.

They asked again if I was the one that was taking over.

I told them, possibly, if I can get the history of the loan and work a deal.

They asked again how much I was going to pay.

I told them, look, this isn’t my loan. My name isn’t on the loan, I never signed for it and I can walk away at any time.

Then they come back and start telling me “well the loan was taken out on your behalf. You should pay it back.” It is true that the loan was taken out for me, but that still doesn’t negate the fact that I asked for the history of the loan and that I wanted to negotiate, not just start paying on a severely defaulted loan.

So I told them, “quit with the terrorist tactics.”

Then they had the nerve to come back and tell me that I was negating my duty and that I was just going to let my dad go into ruin…

… then I just hung up. Like I warned them, I don’t deal with terrorists.

These people are out of their minds. They have someone that is willing to start making a loan right. A loan that even garnishing has failed to repay. And I ask for just two small things – the account history and the negotiation terms. And they get evil on me and start trying to play with my emotions.

If that is the game, then have fun trying to collect from my father!

3 Responses to “What is Wrong with People in Collections?”


  1. 1 Alan Scott
    23 October 2009 at 15:26

    Wow, it sounds like a call to the Dave Ramsey show on Foxbusiness. Dave always says that in regards to collection agencies, you are not dealing with intelligent life.

  2. 23 October 2009 at 17:44

    @Alan Scott: I am a big fan of Dave Ramsey. I was not doing his “Rice and Beans” plan (almost, but not quite), but I did do the snowball plan. I am out of debt and taking this loan back on would have obviously put me back in debt.

    I am still amazed that they acted like that. They had me ready to pay. I don’t have to pay as my name is not on the loan. And then they go all terrorist tactic on me.

    Um, no…

  3. 3 Al
    7 February 2011 at 23:02

    This reminds me of one time when I went out of Wal-mart and found another item in the bottom rack of the cart. I checked the receipt and saw that I hadn’t paid for it, so after loading the rest of the stuff into the car, I took the item back into the store. The security guard/greeter started to put a return/refund tag on it and I said, “I’m not bringing it back for a refund; I missed paying for it but I don’t want it enough to stand in line again.”
    His mouth hung open as he persisted in trying to attach the refund tag to the item. “You don’t want a refund?” he asked.
    “No, I didn’t pay for it. I’m returning it.”
    I guess he’d never had anything like that happen before.


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


