04
Jan
10

2009 Rambling Recap

I am not completely sure what happened in 2009, but 2009 is gone. I went home for the holidays to celebrate NYE with friends and family.

I am confident in saying that most Americans are either in denial, trapped in stupidity, or are simply lost in a sea of lies. I think that traveling through the airport we can see a lot of how people are doing. So, what did I see?

Well, over half the females that I saw in the aiport were carrying Coach, Louis Vuitton, Chanel, and Gucci purses – all being $120+ purses. On their feet were Ugg Boots, which are $120. Nearly a third of the people out there had full size laptops and about 60% of the people had some sort of MP3 player. What was the most popular cell phones? You guessed it – iPhones, which are $250 and about $100/month if you want to use your iPhone… well as an iPhone (texting, downloading, playing games, etc). Checked-in baggage was abundant too. I only mention this because nearly every airline charges about $20 per checked in bag.

In a nut-shell, nobody was dressed down. Everyone was blinging with jewelry, accessories, and first class tickets. The airports were as full as they always are, too.

Now, all I hear (especially when I go home) is how crappy the economy is. Alright, so if it is crappy and nobody has a job… then Americans are in denial because we still spend like there is no recession. Recession means, at least to me, to save and be more frugal with your money. Buying a $300 purse and wearing ugly $120 boots is not being frugal – I’m sorry. Which brings me to stupidity. Maybe the economy does suck and nobody is working. If so, then we are all simply stupid. We are still living on credit and not only are we living on credit, we are buying stupid crap that we don’t need. Sure, buy nice stuff but you don’t need that 32GB iTouch to listen to your 80 songs that you downloaded off of iTunes nor do you need your Fendi sunglasses. I sure hope these people are coupon clipping to buy gorceries so that they can afford their toys.

Or maybe what the “statistics” tell us is simply wrong.

In any case, I think we would all be good to take on a little Dave Ramsey and start dancing on the Debt Snowball. Or maybe cut back a touch and get on the Ramsey Beans and Rice Diet. Now, I’m not advocating that you don’t use credit cards or that you don’t buy stuff. What I am advocating is to quit living beyond your means. I am pretty sure that all the masses of people that I saw at the airport were not debt free and I’m sure many more had no sort of emergency fund program. In other words, if something bad did happen, how long would they last financially?

On another note, I do not see how logical thinking people still support Obama. I think we are all past the lustful puppy-dog stage of the relationship and can start seeing that the dog pooping on the carpet is not all that funny. Are you serious people? Still wearing the Hope and Change Obama shirts? The Obama stickers? I am very temped to ask these people if they have an inkling of what he does? I don’t think they do – not a one of them. Or if spending more in their household helps them get out of debt like Obama thinks that spending more will help recover the economy. Of course, if I question any of them, especially as a “privledged-white man” then I will instantly be bastardized as a racist.

What is even more confusing is that I actually do talk to a lot of people and they don’t think that our government is worth a crap.

Um.

So why are we sitting on our hands?

Oh yeah. We are scared of our government. We don’t believe in America. It is uncool to be American. It is bad to be better than someone due to your hard work. We don’t believe in ourselves.

In fact, I don’t think we believe in anything except fear and that government will fix everything (despite their track record).

I sure hope that 2010 brings in some new Conservatives into our government. Lord knows that a Constitutionalist like Ron Paul could use some company.

1 Response to “2009 Rambling Recap”


  1. 1 Goosef
    4 January 2010 at 10:53

    Well said my friend. Part of the degradation of our society is the fact that more and more of us are going to the grave on “easy credit terms”. It is insane to think in times of uncertainty ( i know my workplace has laid off quite a few people in the past 2 years) that people are spending beyond their means, but i also believe that is part of the mentality of America, somoen else can be held accountable for my problems and someone will always be there to bail ME out.

    A sad state, as for the Obama stuff, well I don’t see how anyone finds this guy to be smart or capable as President, but hey I like to use reason and common sense in my thought processes, and apparently not everyone does that.

    It was good to see you, hope you had a safe trip home!

    goosef


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


