19
Jan
10

When Your Government Ignores You

There is an underlying presumption that if you are an American, you are free. Or, at least that is what we used to believe in, say to everyone, and go to war over. However, are we really free? What makes one free and one enslaved? Could freedom simply be American propaganda?

I wrote previously in I Can Prove That You Are a Slave in America that I think that we are enslaved while Josh S. argued that we were being theived from. I believe we are both right (maybe agree with Josh a little more now than before). Even if either case is true – we live here and are enslaved to the State by taxes or we live here and have to endure being stolen from every paycheck via taxes – I cannot truly say that I am free. Can you? In either of these cases we are forced to either not work (live in poverty) or work and give up money.

What or who gives our government the right to enslave or steal from its people? This surely wasn’t how America was envisioned to be when America was made was it? Wasn’t it the pilgrims that came here because they sought a more free life – free of government telling them what religion to practice, free from government telling them to give money to the king, free from the government quartering the army in their homes, free from the government tossing them in jail without due process, and free from being taxed without representation (among other things they tried to be free from).

So what then are we supposed to do in 2010 when we realize that we are not free? Sure, we have Representatives in the House of Representatives, but they not only don’t represent us… they don’t even listen to us. For the last two years I have written my Representatives (and Senators) and the most response I’ve received is a canned letter. More recently with my problems with a government agency, my Representative ignores me. So now the government agency ignores me and so does all three of my Congressmen.

So what is it that a “free” citizen to do when they realize that they are not free and ignored by their government? I assure you, a government that does not listen to it’s people is a government that is on the road that leads to absolute tyranny – and this is where I am afraid we are squarely heading.

This raises another point – where is everyone else? Where are my fellow countrymen? Why do I never hear anyone getting upset? Why do I feel like I am one of the few people who actually tries to communicate with my government (whether they listen or not is a different story)? I have been in numerous conversations with people over the ever increasing government encroachment in our lives and I never even get the time of day. People, in general, don’t care. It is obvious to me that the complacency of my neighbors is not only what allowed government to not care, it is what allows our government to continue to become more and more tyrannical.

When is it that you, my neighbor, says enough is enough? When is it when you say that your government can’t take 20% of your paycheck and give it to someone else or some company that failed to operate correctly? When is it that you stand up and say that it is your right to defend yourself by any means (gun rights)?

I know that I am personally tired of being beat down by my government and being ignored. I am tired of them calling me a fraud and then me asking what I’ve done to be a fraud and they only reiterate that I am a fraud (how is that for being constructive, fair, and logical?). I am tired of trying to read law that nearly makes no sense. How can I be a law abiding citizen if the law is written in such a convoluted way that only the loopholed politicians know what it truly means? Shouldn’t the law say what it means and mean what it says? YES!

What am I supposed to do when I am being hassled and have no way to get answers? Me vs government… and the government has the guns.

1 Response to “When Your Government Ignores You”


  1. 1 Al
    7 February 2011 at 20:42

    Said better than I could: “Are men the property of the state … or are they free souls under God? This same battle continues throughout the world today.” — Cecil B. DeMille, intro to The Ten Commandments (1956)

    “I have been in numerous conversations with people over the ever increasing government encroachment in our lives and I never even get the time of day. People, in general, don’t care. It is obvious to me that the complacency of my neighbors is not only what allowed government to not care, it is what allows our government to continue to become more and more tyrannical.”

    People here have it better than the majority of the world’s population, which has been slaves, serfs or peons for most of history and before. Caring about the loss of liberty is either distressing (when one does nothing) or dangerous (when one tries to improve matters). Safe and fairly comfortable is “I think everyone should believe in something: I believe I’ll have another beer.” “Don’t bother me … the Super Bowl is ON!”


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


