28
Feb
10

People Just Don’t Get the Roll of Government

I talk to a lot of people. I frequent clubs, bars, restaurants, as well as all the online avenues. It is painfully obvious to me many times that people today have absolutely no clue about the proper role of government. It is like the idea is so foreign to them that they cannot even wrap their head around it.

Today I went out with one of my friends to eat. We got on the topic of politics as we do sometimes. I don’t know what political ideology I would say he is, but if I had to guess I would bet he was a left-leaning moderate. If I could press him fully, I’d probably boil him down to a Conservative. Why do I say this? Well, I actually happen to think that most rational people when specifically pinned down are Conservatives. They don’t want to be told what to do, they don’t want to be raped in taxes, they want to be rewarded for their hard work, and other Conservative/Libertarian values.

For some reason my friend thinks that Sarah Palin is an idiot and would make the worst President if she made it to that position. He always brings this up. Now, I am not the biggest Palin fan. She is cool and better than a lot of politician-scum that is out there, but my bread-and-butter is with Ron Paul and politicians like him. In any case, I don’t know his exact qualms with her, but if the people elect her, then she is elected. We can sit around and complain all day that she doesn’t have as high of an IQ as Obama or Clinton, but if she can be a “good” President then why would we not want her in office.

But I am digressing in a horrible way. Back on track Kyle!

So my friend and I got talking about the right way to govern. I don’t remember the entire conversation but he ended up talking about the classic single mother scenario. You know, the single-mother who works 70 hours a week and has no health care for her kids. The challenge was, can we just let her live like this. My answer, absolutely.

I asked him if this was a political issue or a moral issue. He said it was a moral issue. So what he wanted was a moral problem to be fixed by a political avenue. In all honesty, I understand the desire to help people. I don’t like the idea that there are people out there that starve, need medical help, or any other tragedy of life. But I know something that everyone seems to casually forget – life isn’t fair and it never will be no matter how many rules you have or how much money you spend. In any case, a moral issue being solved by a political mean.

So, my friend is gay. Many people would say that it is morally wrong to be gay. I challenged him, I said if you think that it is immoral to let the single mother not have health care and all that, what about all the people that think that being gay is immoral. Let’s make it extreme and say that they think that it is so immoral that you should die – should we have the government mandate that you die because being gay is immoral?

He didn’t have much of an answer for me. He just asked how I’d do it. I answered in a question – the only way to be fair is to address all the issues or address none of these issues. He said we must address them all. I snapped back with, how are we going to pay for it and how do you feel if everyone agreed that gays should die? I continued on with that addressing all these moral issues was not the roll of government, at least not the federal government. I said the only way was for the Federal Government to not address anything but their specific concerns – international trade, protection of our borders, maintaining interstate highways, etc. If the States of the Union individually wanted to decide on legislating other things, then go for it. That is their right as a Sovereign State.

But isn’t that just the issue? Any more the States just take it. We no longer are The United States of America, we are just America.

This is a problem.

I also have a story of how we should view taking care of others. One day I was driving down the Loop 101 here in Arizona. It was about 6 or 7pm and plenty of cars were on the highway that evening. There was an old VW bug sitting on the shoulder that was litterally engulfed in flames. It looked like it had been burning for a while and the first thought was, someone must have called this in. But then again, it did look like it had been burning for a while, so maybe it didn’t get called in. So I called the Highway Patrol to let them know what was up. I said them them, “I am sure that someone has already been notified and dispatched but there is a car on the highway that is totally up in flames at such and such street. Has anyone been sent out?” And you know what their answer was? “No, nobody has called.”

Are you kidding me!?

The moral of this story is that when we believe that someone else will take care of our neighbors or fellow man, we will do nothing. With the car, hundreds of people drove by and said what I initially thought – someone else has already called it in. But the fact of the matter was that everyone took that idea and nobody got called to help. Psychologists have done studies to show that when you are directly responsible for the well being of someone, then you take care of it. However, if you believe you can pass that responsibility off to someone else, we don’t help.

So when we want our government to help people, we do just that, we neglect our neighbors in hopes that the nameless, bureaucratic, government entity will take care of everyone. So instead of being empathetic for our neighbors we become apathetic to the entire situation.

This is a problem.

As soon as we start taking responsibility for not only ourselves but for others, we will be lost. And as long as we hope and depend on the government to do things for us (because the problem is too big) then we will continue to become increasingly apathetic. Furthermore, we also need to help our States learn their place in the United States of America.

3 Responses to “People Just Don’t Get the Roll of Government”


  1. 1 ROUGH JUSTICE
    28 February 2010 at 06:10

    I disagree with you on only one point, Sir. It is “America,” the idea, which is gone. What only remains are the States United; and only by federal mandate at this point – according to the interpretation of the federal government. Fortunately we are beginning to hear the sounds of the states wanting either to be united because THEY wish to be; or considering the possibilities of no longer being united if the price be the current program of the federal government. I’m just waiting for one to leave, so I can move there.

  2. 28 February 2010 at 17:19

    @Rough Justice: Thanks for the comment. Whether it is “America” or “United States” that is gone, the point remains the same – the States have given up their powers to all be under the Federal Government.

    I hope there is a black sheep state too, I will strongly consider moving there as well.

  3. 28 February 2010 at 17:43

    The Confederate States of America never looked so good as they do now.


Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


