03
Aug
14

A Message From Arizona’s Frank Riggs

Below is a message from Frank Riggs, a contender for the Arizona Governor position.

Dear Friend of Liberty,

I’m Frank Riggs, Republican candidate for governor of Arizona. I’m writing to ask for your support and vote in the Republican Primary. Mail ballot voting begins July 31st and primary election day is August 26th. The stakes are great if we’re going to restore fiscal responsibility, constitutionally limited government, free markets and personal liberty in our state and country.

I’m the only candidate for governor with a deep and proven record of defending our liberties, constitutional principles and core conservative values. I’ve taken three oaths in my life: the soldier’s oath when I enlisted in the Army (I’m the only vet running for governor), the law enforcement oath to protect and serve the public when I became a police officer out of the Army, and the oath of office to support and defend the U.S. Constitution when I was sworn into Congress where I served three terms.

Actually, as I think about it, my fourth and most important oath was when I married my wife Cathy 34 years ago. Cathy’s a native daughter of Arizona born in Tucson. We’re the proud parents of three adult children, all married, and three grandchildren (our most recent grandchild was born July 24th!). Cathy and I met when we were both police officers and she shares my concern regarding the increasing militarization of law enforcement, especially at the federal level. There’s simply no constitutional justification for heavily armed, paramilitary law enforcement units in federal land use agencies like the BLM and Forest Service. I know you share the same concern. In fact, the pictures of the BLM “swat team” preparing to confront the Bundy family and their supporters with military-style weapons should shock the conscience of every liberty-loving American.

Here’s my statement on the role and responsibilities of law enforcement based on my (and Cathy’s) actual experience as police officers:

“As a police officer you’re trained that you’re best, most effective tool is your mouth and you learn quickly on the streets how to control and de-escalate situations verbally. Physical force is always a last resort. That’s how I conducted myself as a police officer and deputy sheriff for small and medium-sized law enforcement agencies.

When both Cathy and I were cops, federal law enforcement agencies (FBI, DEA) would always notify and coordinate their activities with local law enforcement. It was then their standard protocol to conduct search and seizure and arrest activities with and through local law enforcement, and should be now. There is absolutely no rationale or constitutional justification for federal land-use agencies (BLM and Forest Service) to have heavily-armed, paramilitary SWAT teams. As governor, I will notify them that they have no authority in Arizona and must stand-down, and that legitimate federal law enforcement agencies involved in interstate drug and crime interdiction must coordinate with state and local law enforcement in every instance, with the exception of the Border Patrol and Customs on or near the border (where they belong and the federal government should be focused on aggressively enforcing the law!).”

I recently met with members of the Arizona Liberty Caucus in Phoenix, thanks to John Laurie who arranged the meeting. We reviewed and discussed the candidate survey I completed which is attached. The meeting was informative and productive, and as you might imagine, a lively discussion and exchange of ideas! I hope you agree that my views are very consistent with the positions of the Liberty Caucus.

As a U.S. Congressman, I was proud to be a member of the Republican Liberty Caucus, a group of Republican members of the House of Representatives dedicated to individual rights, limited government and free enterprise. In my third and last term, I was asked by Speaker Newt Gingrich to chair the House Education Subcommittee, and along with Congressman Ron Paul, also a member of the Subcommittee, authored legislation converting federal education funds to block grants (the next best thing to eliminating that unconstitutional agency altogether, which was impossible with Bill Clinton in the White House). In fact, Dr. Paul and I served together at the only time in modern history when we were able to actually cut federal government spending and reduce the size, scope, reach and power of the federal government. When I left Congress to keep my term limits commitment, the federal budget was balanced and generated surpluses for four consecutive years thereafter, and we had fundamentally reformed welfare by imposing time limits and work requirements on welfare recipients.

My voting record earned me the highest ratings and endorsements of National Right to Life and the NRA, and accolades from other national organizations supporting school choice, private property rights, taxpayers, small business and free enterprise. I’m proud of my endorsements by Arizonans Against Common Core (for my promise to repeal Common Core on Day One and restore local control in K-12 education), the Arizona Chapter of the Association of American Physicians and Surgeons (for my promise to fight Medicaid expansion under Obamacare and protect patient and doctor rights) and from the National Vietnam and Gulf War Veterans Coalition, consisting of 70 veterans organizations and representing 250,000 veterans.

I’ve also been endorsed by State Senator Judy Burges, former State Senate Majority Leader Thayer Verschoor, and former State Senator and current Navajo County Supervisor Sylvia Allen. Undoubtedly, my “loudest” endorsement has come from Ted Nugent (yes, that Ted Nugent!). The “Nuge” is a proud patriot and outspoken defender of our individual liberties and unalienable rights, as endowed by our Creator, and enshrined and protected in the Constitution and Bill of Rights. All of these endorsements are on my campaign website where you can find more information about my candidacy and ways to help my campaign: www.riggsforazgov.com.

In closing, I want you to know I’m committed to protecting our state sovereignty and all Arizonans against federal government overreach. My candidacy threatens the political establishment because I can’t be bought and am not “owned” by them, nor do I “owe” anyone political favors. My character and leadership capabilities were forged by my military, law enforcement and congressional service that taught me the absolute importance of honesty and integrity. While my primary opponents are running their campaigns on bombastic, untested rhetoric and would require “on-the-job training,” I’m running on my deep, proven record. I’m tested and vetted, including by the Arizona Liberty Caucus, and ready to lead on Day One. You can trust me to be a champion of liberty, and the strong and courageous governor we need to make our state a bastion of freedom and a shining example of constitutionally limited government…of, by and for the people.

Yours in the Cause of Liberty!

Frank Riggs

0 Responses to “A Message From Arizona’s Frank Riggs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Quotes:

"We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth... For my part, I am willing to know the whole truth; to know the worst; and to provide for it." - Patrick Henry

"Politicians and diapers both need to be changed, and for the same reason." - Anonymous

"Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it." - William Penn

"Naturally the common people don't want war; neither in Russia, nor in England, nor in America, nor in Germany. That is understood. But after all, it is the leaders of the country who determine policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in any country" - Hermann Goering

"I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do this I keep on doing." - Romans 7:18-19

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Categories


